A different approach to fighting food insecurity, poor health, and isolation

A Community Food Centre is a welcoming space in a low-income neighbourhood where people come together to grow, cook, share, and advocate for good food. Community Food Centres provide people with access to high-quality food in a dignified space. People learn cooking and gardening skills there, and kids get their hands dirty in the garden and kitchen in ways that expand their tastebuds and help them make healthier food choices. Community members can take action on the issues that affect them, and people find friends and support. 
 




Community Food Centre Objectives

  • Improve people’s ability to access healthy food in a dignified way; 
  • Increase healthy food knowledge, skills, and behaviours; 
  • Decrease social isolation and increase people’s connection to supports; 
  • Create opportunities for people to take action on the issues that affect their lives, 
  • Empower people to be volunteers and leaders.

Community Food Centre Programs
 
  • Healthy food access: Community meals, affordable produce markets, and healthy food distribution programs increase access to fresh and nutritious food in a welcoming space where people can get connected to other supports and resources.
  • Food skills: Community kitchens, gardens, and after-school programs help people build the skills, knowledge, and confidence to grow and prepare healthy food for themselves and their families. They also empower people to take control of their health and nutrition within the context of their circumstances, and make lasting and sustainable changes in their diets.
  • Education and engagement: Peer advocacy and support, community action training, social justice clubs and volunteer programs support people to get involved in the issues that matter to them, equip them with the tools they need to take action, and create opportunities for participants to be leaders in their communities and push for change.

Une façon différente de combattre la faim, la mauvaise santé et l’isolement social

Un centre communautaire d’alimentation (CCA) est un lieu accueillant situé dans un quartier défavorisé où se rassembler pour cultiver, cuisiner, partager et promouvoir la bonne nourriture. Les CCA offrent un accès à de la nourriture de haute qualité dans un environnement digne. Les gens acquièrent des compétences en cuisine et en jardinage, et les enfants éveillent leurs papilles gustatives et apprennent à faire des choix alimentaires plus sains. Les gens peuvent agir sur des questions qui les touchent, et y trouver des amis et du soutien. Les CCA offrent une programmation variée, intégrée et adaptée à leurs besoins dans un lieu accueillant où la nourriture cultive la santé, l’espoir, les compétences et l’appartenance. 
 

 


Objectifs
 
  • Améliorer la capacité des gens à accéder à de la nourriture saine de façon digne;
  • Accroître les connaissances, les compétences et les saines habitudes alimentaires;
  • Aménager des occasions pour que les gens se mobilisent face aux problèmes qui les touchent;
  • Donner aux gens les moyens de devenir des bénévoles et des leaders.

Programmes
 
  • Accès aux aliments sains : programmes incluant des repas communautaires, des marchés de produits abordables et des aliments sains. Ils offrent aux gens des aliments frais et nutritifs et diverses ressources dans un lieu accueillant.
  • Développement de compétences alimentaires : programmes incluant des cuisines et des jardins communautaires, et des activités parascolaires. Ils aident les gens à développer leurs compétences, leurs connaissances et leur confiance afin de cultiver et de préparer des aliments sains. Ils offrent aussi aux gens une prise sur leur santé et leur alimentation afin qu’ils améliorent durablement leur régime.
  • Éducation et mobilisation : programmes incluant de la représentation par les pairs, de la formation en mobilisation communautaire, des ateliers de justice sociale et des programmes de bénévolat. Ils soutiennent les gens mobilisés face aux questions qui les intéressent, les outillent pour agir, et leur permettent de prendre les devants dans leur communauté pour changer les choses.

Nos partenaires

Centre communautaire d'alimentation The Alex (Calgary, Alberta)
Centre communautaire d'alimentation NorWest Co-op (Winnipeg, Manitoba) 
Centre communautaire d'alimentation de Hamilton (Hamilton, Ontario)  
Centre communautaire d'alimentation Regent Park (Toronto, Ontario) 
Centre communautaire d'alimentation The Local (Stratford, Ontario) 
Centre communautaire d'alimentation The Stop (Toronto, Ontario), partenaire fondateur 
Centre communautaire d'alimentation The Table (Perth, Ontario) 
Centre communautaire d'alimentation Dartmouth North (Dartmouth, Nouvelle-Écosse)
Centre communautaire d'alimentation Le Dépot (Montréal, Québec)
Centre communautaire d'alimentation de Nelson (Nelson, Colombie-Britannique)
Centre communautaire d'alimentation Mount Paul (Kamloops, Colombie-Britannique)
Centre communautaire d'alimentation Natoaganeg (Première Nation d’Eel Ground, Nouveau-Brunswick)